Chinese  |  English
Introduction to Philosophy School

The School of Philosophy, Renmin University of China (RUC), was founded in 1956. It consists of two departments: the Department of Philosophy and the Department of Religious Studies. It is one of the largest centers for philosophy in China and the world, with an international reputation for academic excellence. At present, there are 80 faculty members, of whom more than 40 are full professors, and most of them are leading scholars in China. The School offers BA, MA, MPhil, and PhD degrees in every field of philosophy and religious studies, and also has a number of post-doctoral programs. Currently there are about 500 graduate students and 150 undergraduate students in the School.

The School has two national research centers sponsored by Chinese Ministry of Education, namely, the Institute for Studies of Buddhism and Religious Theory and the National Center for Ethical Studies, and a number of other research centers sponsored by the University, such as the Institute of Confucian Studies, the Institute of Epistemology, the Center for Western Philosophy, the Institute of Aesthetics and Modern Arts, the Institute of Modern Logic and Philosophy of Science, and the International Center for Chinese Philosophy and Comparative Philosophy, International Center for Buddhist Studies.

In the recent nation-wide evaluation conducted by the Chinese Ministry of Education, the School of Philosophy ranked second among all philosophy programs of mainland China.

(C) 2014© 中国人民大学哲学院 | |
北京市海淀区中关村大街59号中国人民大学人文楼 | 邮政编码/Postcode:100872 | 传真/Fax:86 10 62515303 | 电子邮件/